OCCAC men's basketball awards released

Tyreke Johnson
Tyreke Johnson

The Ohio Community College Athletic Conference has released it's season awards for men's basketball and Tyreke Johnson was named the OCCAC Player of the Year. Johnson is a sophomore from Woodstock High School in Woodstock, Georgia. Currently, Tyreke is averaging just over 18 points and 5 rebounds per game. Johnson was also named to the OCCAC's All-Defensive team. He has helped lead the team to consecutive District C championships.

Sophomore Jonny Bowers (Everett HS) who is from Lansing, MI, was named to the Honorable Mention team. Bowers averages 10.7 PPG and 6.4 RPG. Bowers has also helped the Lakers to consecutive District C Championships.

Lakers Head Coach, Terry Bowe, was named the OCCAC Coach of the Year. This season, Coach Bowe collected his 300th career victory. This also marks the 5th time in coach Bowe's tenure that the Lakers have won the District and qualified for the National Tournament. 

The Lakers are currently 22-7 and are awaiting the NJCAA seeding release to determine their next opponent.